Changes in the Administration of British Burma(Myanmar) from 1824 to 1884

Ei Ei Zaw^{*}

Abstract

This paper presents how to establish the British administration in order to consolidate their rule after the occupation of Lower Myanmar. The British after the first Anglo-Myanmar war occupied Rakhine and Taninthayi. Rakhine region was put under the direct rule of the Government of Bengal. The Teninitharyi region was placed under the Government of India, and later on the Government of Bengal took charge of it. After the second Anglo-Myanmar War, the British Lower Myanmar was divided into three divisions: Rakhine, Thanintharyi and Bago, and took the administrative responsibilities of each division. In 1862, the British Government with the purpose of economizing the administrative expenses adopted a uniform system of administration, and incorporated the three divisions into one province of British Burma (Myanmar) that was governed by a Chief Commissioner. Like the administrative system of India, the province of British Burma was divided into divisions, districts, subdivisions, townships and villages under a hierarchy of bureaucratic machinery.

Key words: administration, division, hierarchy, commissioner

^{*} Lecturer, Department of History, Yangon University of Education